Night Skies ..

Sangam

Can you guess the time of the day when the above photo was taken? (Click on the photo for a bigger version). Would you believe it if I said 2 AM? Oh yes, 2 AM it is! Maybe the stars in the photo can convince you ๐Ÿ™‚

We, Astronomy Club, IIT Madras held a session yesterday night at the Sangam Grounds. I tried out some shots of the sky using a Canon Powershot A540 with its shutter open for 15 seconds. And in the wee hours of the night I get photos like the one above! Clearly, this was my first time in taking such long exposures!

I managed to capture Ursa Major (which came out very well). That’s the one below

Ursaย Major

I also captured some afocal shots of the moon.

Moon From Sangam

My (alomst) first shot at Astrophotography!

Aside: my Hackergotchi Tutorial is first on google! <Search>

